Off Canvas Navigation Container

Closer Trigger (Container)

Search (Mobile)

Main Navigation (Container)

Main Menu

Utility Container

Above Nav Container

Tier 2 and 3 Programming

Play, Learn and Grow...Together! What is Tier 2 and 3 Programming?

Tier 2 and 3 is a program for students who are not making adequate progress in the core and are identified through ROCORI's universal screeners (FastBridge, MCA's, Classroom benchmarks), progress monitoring, and formative observation. Title programming provides an additional instruction in reading and math in a small group (1-6 students). Title does not replace core classroom instruction, but adds a layers of support. This supplementary instruction occurs outside of regular reading and math instruction. The focus is to provide support and extension of core instruction through extra time, intensity, focus, and collaboration with goal of helping the student to be successful with core.

Tier 2 and 3 Programming Guide

 

 

 

Instructional Components

Assessments

FastBridge (reading and math)- Online assessment taken in the winter and spring for Kindergarten through fourth grade (only KDG and new students take in the fall).

MCA's (reading and math)- State assessment taken in the spring 3rd-5th grade.

Teachers collaborate using assessment data and classroom data/observations to determine student groups. Groups are designed to be flexible.

 

Instructional Tools

Path to Reading Excellence in School Sites (PRESS) – The primary goal of PRESS is to work with teachers and administrators to establish school-based systems and practices for all K-5 students to become capable readers.

 

Orton-Gillingham multisensory reading – Orton Gillingham is an instructional approach intended primarily for use with individuals who have difficulty with reading, spelling, and writing of the sort associated with dyslexia

 Math Expressions – Expressions is research-based, proved instruction that combines elements of standards-based instruction with the best traditional approaches. It helps students make sense of mathematics and become lifelong math learners.

 

 

Contact Us

Cold Spring

Eric Skanson
Cold Spring Principal
skansone@rocori.k12.mn.us

 

Heidi Hinkemeyer
Teacher
hinkemeyerh@rocori.k12.mn.us

 

Kristi Stavros
Teacher
stavrosk@rocori.k12.mn.us

 

John Clark

Sam Court
John Clark Principal
courts@rocori.k12.mn.us

 

Joanna Boos
Teacher
boosj@rocori.k12.mn.us

 

Richmond

Mary Holmberg
Richmond Principal
holmbergm@rocori.k12.mn.us

 

Suzanne Schlangen
Teacher
schlangens@rocori.k12.mn.us