Special Education

ROCORI Special Education Programming

 

What is Special Education?

Special education programming focuses on specially designed instruction that addresses childrens' individual needs and differences. Assessing, planning instruction, and monitoring progress is completed by a team of teachers who work with the child. It is each child's team responsibility to consider their abilities that will help them be successful and independent in compliance with a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) through the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA).

www.news.blogsdna.com

 

How Does a Child Receive Special Education Services?

When a child is unsuccessful with interventions in the Response to Intervention (RtI) system, they are referred for an initial special education evaluation to determine if they are eligible for specialized instruction addressing their needs. To qualify for special education services, the child must have a disability. A comprehensive evaluation determines the existence of a disability, below average performance does not qualify a child for special education services. The school conducts a comprehensive evaluation to determine the child's needs. Based on their overall performance, the team determines if a child is eligible or ineligible for special education services. When a child qualifies for special education, the team develops an Individual Education Plan (IEP) that specifically identifies how the student's areas of need will be addressed through the development of goals and objectives. The IEP team meets annually to continually change their goals and objectives based on their present levels of performance. A child is comprehensively evaluated every three years. 

The child must meet Minnesota criteria in one or more of the following areas. Minnesota Statue (Chapter 2535 of Minnesota Administrative Rules):
 

 

Special Education Resources and Information

                       

 

Rocori Special Education Staff

Amanda Glenz

ROCORI High School

glenza@rocori.k12.mn.us

Angie Terwey

Richmond & John Clark-Speech

terweya@rocori.k12.mn.us

Anita Erkens

Richmond Elementary

erkense@rocori.k12.mn.us

Cheri Eickhoff

Cold Spring Elementary

eickhoffc@rocori.k12.mn.us

Chris Wander

ROCORI High School

wanderc@rocori.k12.mn.us

Jeremy Frank

ROCORI High School

frankj@rocori.k12.mn.us

Kati Brink

DAPE-District

brinkk@rocori.k12.mn.us

Larry Syverson

ROCORI High School

syversonl@rocori.k12.mn.us

Michelle Cremers

ROCORI Secondary Speech

cremersm@rocori.k12.mn.us

Leslie Buttweiler

Cold Spring Elementary

buttweilerl@rocori.k12.mn.us

Lisa Ludwig

John Clark Elementary

ludwigl@rocori.k12.mn.us

Doris Minnerath

Cold Spring Elementary

minnerathd@rocori.k12.mn.us

Rachel Neutzling

ROCORI Middle School

neutzlingr@rocori.k12.mn.us

Sandi Hilsgen

Early Childhood-DEF building

hilsgens@rocori.k12.mn.us

Jessica Rodeberg

Cold Spring Elementary rodebergj@rocori.k12.mn.us

Shelly Hoyt

ROCORI Middle School

hoyts@rocori.k12.mn.us

Steph Ruegemer

ROCORI High School

ruegemers@rocori.k12.mn.us

Susan Silvers

Cold Spring Elementary-Speech

silverss@rocori.k12.mn.us

Jessica Rennecke

ROCORI Middle School

renneckej@rocori.k12.mn.us

Ted Faber

DAPE-ROCORI High School fabert@rocori.k12.mn.us