Submitted by brian on



In this week’s article, I would like to take time to share information about a recognition program in which the ROCORI School District participates.  The program, sponsored by Resource Training and Solutions, is affectionately known as the LEEAs—short for the Leadership in Educational Excellence Awards.



A few weeks ago, I shared information about the Educational Support Staff of Excellence program.  As a district, we had the privilege of recognizing four ROCORI staff members at the ESS awards program.  We have participated in the support staff program, in part, because we have been an active participant in the teacher recognition program (LEEA) which has been in place for a longer period of time.

The LEEA awards program was instituted by Resource Training and Solutions as a way to bring about regional recognition to the work and efforts of staff members within our individual school districts.  Many school districts have very hard-working, quality staff members who receive little or no recognition for their work.  They are not named the district, state or national teacher of the year yet they do quality work in education day in and day out!

In order to provide some recognition, even if only on a regional basis, and to present those awards in front of their peers, Resource Training and Solutions established the Leadership in Educational Excellence Awards.



This award is intended to be a celebration of the successes of our district teaching, administrative, and other professional staff who meet the criteria.  As outlined in the criteria for the award, the ROCORI School District seeks to recognize exemplary performance and leadership qualities in the award nominees. Nominators are asked to view the recognition process as a means to honor staff who give “above and beyond the call” on behalf of students.

Any staff member in the school district is able to submit nominations for the award.  Previous award recipients, however, are not eligible to receive the award a second time.  The district does not break the award down by building, location, grade level or any other format, but does encourage a broad array of nominees and candidates for the recognition.



Because the award is intended to recognize exemplary performance, the nomination form includes a set of criteria to help staff members select or consider nominees.   The criteria offered as guidelines for the LEEA awards include:

The honorees must be administrators, nurses, full-time, licensed PK-12 classroom teachers, counselors, and specialists (media, speech, special education, gifted/talented, etc.)

The honoree should:

*serve as an example to inspire fellow colleagues, students, and their communities  through positive leadership and attitude toward the educational field;

*possess a thorough knowledge of subject matter;

*demonstrate a leadership in curriculum development;

*provide a positive role model for students and staff;

*be an exemplary instructor who recognizes students as individuals and motivates them to reach their maximum potential;

*show genuine respect and concern for others;

*seek to improve personal and instructional effectiveness through continuing education and staff development activities; and

*contribute to the implementation of the district mission.



For 2013, the ROCORI recipients of the LEEA recognition include Patti Rice, Kerry Peterson, Dave Shaw and Julie Woods.  Patti is an English/Language Arts teacher at ROCORI High School.  Kerry is an Early Childhood educator in the programs located at the District Education Facility.  Dave is a Physical Education teacher who serves primarily in Shared Services providing instruction at the parochial schools.  Julie Woods is a Social Studies instructor at ROCORI High School. 

The ROCORI recipients will be honored at a banquet at the St. Cloud River Center Convention site on Wednesday evening, October 30.  In the past, more than 500 recipients and guests have gathered for the celebration to honor the Central Minnesota Leadership in Educational Excellence Award winners! 

Congratulations to the ROCORI recipients on this leadership honor!