Submitted by brian on



Over the last several weeks, we have learned of some recognition and honors that have been earned or awarded within the ROCORI School District.  We are proud of the honors and I would like to take time to highlight a few of the items.



Congratulations are extended to retired ROCORI Coach, Teacher and Activities Director, Bob Brink.  Bob  was recently chosen to be inducted into the Minnesota State High School League Hall of Fame.  Bob was selected for his career in activities and his success with the basketball program.

The MSHSL induction ceremony is set to be held on October 25th at 1 p.m.  The recognition is held in St. Paul at the Crowne Plaza. 

Bob will be inducted  along with the other members of the MSHSL “class” of 2015.  The group includes coaches, athletes, fine arts directors, administrators, and officials.  This year’s inductees include Neil Broten. Bob Karn, Gerry Keenan, Buzz Lagos, Hal Miller, Briana Scurry, Cortney Sylvester, Michael Tillmann, Carrie Tollefson, Barry Wohler and Bozo Wincek. 

The MSHSL website includes the following description of the recognition for Coach Brink: 


A native of Plankinton, SD, Bob Brink spent 51 years as a high school boys basketball coach, 42 of them at Rocori High School in Cold Spring. He retired in 2012 with a 936-327 record. His victories rank No. 2 all-time in Minnesota behind Chisholm's Bob McDonald, who finished his career with 1,012. Brink led the Spartans to 14 state tournament appearances, including a Class AA championship in 1988 and a runners-up finish in Class AAA in 1999. During his tenure, his teams won 22 conference championships, 14 section titles, and he was selected Coach of the Year nine times. Brink's entrance into the League's Hall of Fame is the third hall that bears his name.


On behalf of the ROCORI School District we want to extend our congratulations to Coach Bob Brink!



Cold Spring Elementary School recently learned that it has been validated as a Minnesota School of Excellence by the Minnesota Elementary School Principals’ Association (MESPA). This prestigious honor was awarded to Cold Spring Elementary School for its commitment to 21st century teaching and learning.

The Minnesota School of Excellence Program promotes excellence through a rigorous evaluation process that showcases dynamic schools of the 21st century.  Established by the Minnesota Elementary School Principals’ Association (MESPA), the program is recognized by the Minnesota Department of Education.

MESPA endorses schools whose principal, staff, students, and community work as a team to demonstrate the desire to strengthen education by successfully undertaking the research-based Minnesota School of Excellence school improvement process. This includes a systematic school-wide self-study, development of a school improvement plan, and implementation of that plan.

The entire Minnesota School of Excellence Program is aligned with six national standards: Learning Centered, Diverse Communities, 21st Century Learners, Quality Instruction, Knowledge and Data, Community Engagement.

CSE started this application in the Spring of 2013 with a letter of intent. In 2014, the CSE building started the self-study process and met to break down our results and put some action forward. 

Mr. Skanson extends credit to the staff for the recognition that has been received. “I am so proud of the Cold Spring Elementary staff and their work on the School of Excellence process and their validation,” said Principal Skanson. “Our school is great because of the people who make it great – the staff, students and parents. The Cold Spring staff is an incredible group of professionals that will do anything for the success of our kids and continue to make our school.

“What have we learned?” asked Principal Skanson.  “It takes a lot of work to be a school of excellence!  We have accomplished a lot but still have work to do! The School of Excellence processes has helped CSE gain confidence and binds us together in a positive culture.”

Cold Spring Elementary will celebrate as a whole school community at a date to be determined later this year.  A planning group will visit MESPA in October to plan the details!  “The whole staff deserves to celebrate this award as well!” commented Principal Skanson.



Anita Hendrickx, secondary Art teacher, has been recognized for her works of art produced in a workshop she recently attended.  The painting,"Koi,"  was one of three that was created during a workshop under Lian's guidance.  The painting was selected to be in the Northstar Watermedia National Juried Show and Exhibit in August.  

Anita, earlier in the summer, noted that “it is a privilege to have it selected for a national show.”  As the painting was adjudicated, Anita has received additional recognition and honor.


In a note to staff, Anita commented, “Lots of people have asked how I did at the NorthStar National Watermedia Exhibition.  Well, yesterday I was in the top 17 receiving awards. There were over 300 entries received electronically for early judging nationally.

“The group was narrowed down to 150 pieces.  At this point, the judge, Jack Richeson, began the process of determining 60 of the pieces that best showed arts practices. Last week 17 works were chosen as the best of the best with each receiving awards determined on what message, artistic merit and creativity and the use of the Elements and Principles of Design.

“I was fortunate to be in the top 17 winning the "Artists Choice Award of Excellence (about 7th place)."


Congratulations, Anita, on the recognition for your artwork.  We are excited for the skills and information that you will also bring back into the classroom and the effect this will have on your work with students!

Anita has noted that the exhibit is up at the Hopkins Center for the Arts until October 18.